Renewable Energy and Island Sustainability Graduate Certificate

Renewable Energy and Island Sustainability Graduate Certificate

The Renewable Energy and Island Sustainability (REIS) graduate certificate provides students with an opportunity to get both breadth and depth in energy and sustainability curriculum. Students will take classes in different colleges to get a broad perspective on energy sustainability. In addition to taking courses and attending a REIS seminar class, students will conduct a capstone project to obtain greater depth in an energy research area.

Certificate Requirements

To obtain the graduate certificate in Renewable Energy and Island Sustainability (REIS), the students must fulfill the following six requirements:

  1. Have passed the two Mandatory General Core Courses listed below.
  2. Have passed at least one course in Technological Specialization Courses.
  3. Fifteen units are required for the certificate in approved 600 and 400 level courses with at least nine units at the 600 level. For each course student should get at least a C- in that course (a Graduate Division requirement) and students should have an overall grade point average of a B in the fifteen units of approved 600 and 400 level courses.
  4. Have conducted a capstone research project in the area of energy and / or sustainability under the supervision of a REIS faculty member (this faculty member should be different than student's primary thesis or dissertation advisor). The research project will result in a research paper in the area of energy or sustainability that will constitute the culminating experience for the REIS certificate. The quality of the paper should be similar to a refereed conference or journal paper or a chapter of a thesis dissertation. Note that this work is in addition to thesis / project requirements for an MS or PhD degree.
  5. Have completed at least one short course or workshop in advanced topics in renewable energy or sustainability, or attended a professional conference in renewable energy or sustainability.
  6. Have passed one REIS seminar course. Note that the seminar course will expose students to different areas in renewable energy and island sustainability. The seminar course will provide students with more broad level knowledge and awareness of energy and sustainability research and education areas. This will be a one unit course that is cross-listed with a syllabus for the course shown in Appendix C.

Mandatory General Core Courses

  • ECON 636: Renewable Energy Economics and Policy
  • ME 610: Renewable Energy and Sustainability Engineering

These two core graduate courses are intended for a broad audience of graduate students with prerequisites of math and science that are usually obtained by undergraduate students by their sophomore year or consent of instructor.

Course descriptions of ME 610 and ECON 636.

Technological Specialization Courses

Below are examples of elective 400/600 level courses that will be approved on a course-by-course basis by the REIS curriculum committee based on course syllabus and content in energy and sustainability topics. Note while most of the current courses are in Engineering, we anticipate that more courses in non-Engineering areas will be approved to met the needs of students from different backgrounds as they enter the program. We anticipate more courses from the Colleges of Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Architecture, Law, Business, CTAHR, and SOEST. The intent of the REIS graduate certificate is to recruit, retain, and graduate a broad spectrum of students in a variety of disciplines interested energy and sustainability fields.

ME 491/EE 491: Solar Energy Engineering and Technology, ME 626: Viscous Flows or CEE622: Fluid Mechanics, EE 696: Renewable Energy Devices and Sensors, ME 647: Nanoscience and Nanotechnology or ME 447: Introduction to Nanotechnology, ARCH 525: Architecture Systems IV: Sustainability, BE 410: Biomass Conversion to Biofuels and Bioenergy, ECON 637: Resource Economics, ECON 638: Environmental Resource Economics, EE491I: Renewable Energy, EE491K: Power Systems, EE491K: Power Electronics, EE 693D: Smart Grid Technology, ICS 691: Smart Grid Software Engineering, ME 646: Mechanics and Design of Composites or ME 446: Advanced Materials Manufacturing, ME 696. Hybrid Electric Vehicle Dynamics and Design, ME 696. Design of Wind Turbine and Wave Energy Converter, ME 696: Renewable Energy Material and Manufacturing Technology, ME 696: Working with Industries in Renewable Energy, ORE607: Water Wave Mechanics, ORE 609: Hydrodynamics of Fluid-Body Interactions, ORE 612: Dynamics of Ocean Structures.

REIS Seminar Course

Examples include EE/ME/CE 696 REIS Seminar and ECON 696 Workshop on Energy and Environmental Research.

REIS Affiliated Faculty

Name Unit Email Office Telephone
Olga Boric-Lubecke Electrical Engineering olgabl@hawaii.edu POST 205K (808) 956-9648
Maxine Burkett Law burkettm@hawaii.edu HIG 212 / Law 207C (808) 956-2865
Beei-Huan Chao Mechanical Engineering bchao@eng.hawaii.edu POST 207D (808) 956-2370
Makena Coffman Urban and Regional Planning makena.coffman@gmail.com Saunders 107D (808) 956-2890
Yingfei Dong Electrical Engineering yingfei@hawaii.edu Holmes 442 (808) 956-3448
Matthias Fripp Electrical Engineering matthias.fripp@eci.ox.ac.uk Currently working in the UK  
David Garmire REIS Program garmire@hawaii.edu Post 201 (808) 956-7406
Mehrdad Ghasemi Nejhad Mechanical Engineering nejhad@hawaii.edu Holmes 301 (808) 956-7560
Reza Ghorbani Mechanical Engineering rezag@hawaii.edu Holmes 201 (808) 956-2292
Philip Johnson Information and Computer Science johnson@hawaii.edu POST 307A (808) 956-3489
Alek Kavcic Electrical Engineering kavcic@hawaii.edu POST 205F Please contact by E-mail
Samir Khanal Molecular Biosciences and Bioengineering khanal@hawaii.edu Agricultural Science 415K (808) 956-3812
Denise Konan Economics konan@hawaii.edu Saunders 542 (808) 956-6310
Anthony Kuh Electrical Engineering kuh@hawaii.edu Holmes 484 (808) 956-4214/7527
Bor Yann Liaw Hawaii Natural Energy Institute bliaw@hawaii.edu   (808) 956-2339
Aaron Ohta Electrical Engineering aohta@hawaii.edu POST 201F (808) 956-8196
Michael Roberts Economics mjrobert@hawaii.edu Saunders 510 (808) 956-6310
Narayana Prasad Santhanam Electrical Engineering prasadsn@gmail.com POST 205H (808) 956-9741
Weilin Qu Mechanical Engineering qu@hawaii.edu POST 207E (808) 956-6332
David Rockwood Architecture rockwood@hawaii.edu ARCH 301A (808) 956-8430
Nori Tarui Economics ntarui@gmail.com Saunders 518 (808) 956-8427
Michelle Teng Civil and Environmental Engineering mteng@hawaii.edu Holmes 337 (808) 956-5060
Zachary Trimble Mechanical Engineering atrimble@hawaii.edu Holmes 304 (808) 956-7597
Scott Turn Hawaii Natural Energy Institute sturn@hawaii.edu POST 111A (808) 956-2346

To Apply

Submit a Concurrent Graduate Certificate Program application form to the Office of Graduate Education (OGE). Be sure to carefully review OGE application requirements.

Download REIS Checklist (pdf)


To Apply

Submit a Concurrent Graduate Certificate Program application form to the Office of Graduate Education (OGE). Be sure to carefully review OGE application requirements.


Contact REIS Co-Directors